Dealing with your period when traveling:Thinx

There are many intrepid female travelers these days. They do everything from solo backpacking across Asia to moving their kids to Croatia. For all that us amazing women do we come across two issues that we are always seeking advice for from other seasoned globetrotters. These two burning questions are about birth control and our periods. While birth control is an important topic to talk about it is all about personal choices and the body’s responds to the different type available; there is no one size fits all solution. For menstruation, there just might be.

I heard of a company for women by women called Thinx over a year ago. They made underwear for your period. That means no tampons or pads. I couldn’t trust the idea right away, but a couple of weeks ago I decided to try them out because I was desperate for luggage space. It was a life-altering decision. I picked the panty that held the most blood as I didn’t want an accident. It didn’t feel weird, there was no mess, and they looked fabulous on! I could not find a downside.

I have since bought more as the site suggests five pairs as being the perfect number to take you through your period. There are different styles for light or heavy days. The panties aren’t too expensive being around $30 and can replace other sanitary options for two years. For me, three of panties is good enough while traveling as you can wash them out and dry them. That’s only $90 on your period for two years! Shipping was free and new customers get $10 off their first purchase.

If you are interested in trying them out you can find the website here.

15 thoughts on “Dealing with your period when traveling:Thinx

  1. Hm, very interesting. But I think I would try them at home first and see whether I feel comfortable with them, before taking them on a trip and then being stuck with something I don’t like or feel comfortable with. Another thing to consider might be the Diva Cup. I haven’t tried it, but it seems that everybody that has tried it, swears by it.

    Like

  2. Thanks for sharing! I’ve never heard of these but they do sound interesting. I might have to give them a try next time I’m at home because they do sound too good to be true. No more tampons woo hoo!

    Like

  3. I’ve heard of them, but haven’t tried it yet. I tend to have a heavy flow, so I’m a bit apprehensive on how these would work for me. I switched over to the menstrual cup a couple of years ago, and haven’t looked back since. It makes life so much easier, especially when traveling!

    Like

  4. I swear by menstruel cups for travel and life in general. Reusable, Eco friendly, super comfortable and leak free when placed properly. Definitely a learning curve when first starting but I would never go back. Be sure to do research on the size and brand that would suit you best.

    Like

  5. How fascinating. Always open to new and innovating solutions, but this one needs to be really be tested first. I swear by the Diva cup and would need a really strong reason to change. Thanks for sharing and creating awareness about this!

    Like

Leave a Reply

